Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones教授在大型和小型组织中拥有强大的管理和领导背景。在军事生涯之后,他转到国防研究局,负责信息安全研究和战场计划数字化安全。在那里,他还在与信息系统有关的犯罪和恐怖主义问题上获得了相当多的专业知识。在DERA(随后是QinetiQ)期间,随着研究深度和广度得到扩展,他所领导的团队规模从30名增长到90名研究科学家,而他仍致力于直接参与研究工作。之后,他担任该部门的业务经理,在任职新职位期间为QinetiQ开发了企业情报服务,并设计了一种可衡量信息环境中威胁程度的方法。随后,该方法的基本概念被用作新Infosec标准1(IS1)的基础。在担任DERA / QinetiQ的管理职务期间,他与多间学术机构建立关系,并参与了信息安全领域的硕士课程开发。

在DERA / QinetiQ任职期间,他获得了信息安全和计算机犯罪硕士学位。2002年9月,离职QinetiQ,并在格拉摩根大学担任信息安全和计算机犯罪主讲师,在此他创建了一间计算机取证研究实验室,用于调查与这一日益重要领域相关的问题,并进一步建立了两个理学硕士奖项。2004年7月,他在信息系统威胁测量领域中获得了博士学位。

2005年1月,担任英国电信(BT)安全研究中心技术小组负责人,2006年6月担任安全研究主管,2008年晋升为首席研究员,负责设置指导和管理BT内的信息安全研究计划。在英国电信工作期间,他申请了学术休假,在阿拉伯联合酋长国哈利法大学担任信息安全理学硕士课程主任,并开设了硕士课程,同时还创建了一个信息安全研究项目。为实现这一目标,他与石油和天然气行业的众多政府部门、国防承包商和组织以及当地企业合作,开发了符合地区要求的教育和研究能力。2013年6月,在研究能力完善建立,并完成课程开发及部门认证之后,他返回英国,目前正致力于信息安全和数字取证的研究。

他目前担任赫特福德郡大学网络安全中心主任,并在此创建了一个安全和数字取证研究实验室,目前正在研究大量相关主题。

他参与了政府、警察和国防承包商相关的一系列信息安全项目。他曾担任当时国家犯罪小组数据采集和恢复小组的技术顾问,目前担任五个信息安全和计算机取证会议委员会成员。他目前担任澳大利亚珀斯埃迪斯科文大学及阿德莱德南澳大利亚大学的兼职教授,并担任德比大学、德蒙福特大学、南威尔士大学和英国萨福克大学的客座教授。他撰写了7本有关信息战、信息安全和数字取证领域的书籍,并经常受邀在安全会议中发表主题演讲。

Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones

Professor Andrew Jones has a strong background of management and leadership within both large and small organisations. Following a military career, he moved to the Defence Research Agency where he was responsible for research into Information Security and the security aspects of the Digitisation of the Battlefield Initiative. Whilst there, he also gained considerable expertise on the criminal and terrorist issues that relate to information systems. During this period at DERA (subsequently QinetiQ), the depth and breadth of research expanded and the group that he led grew in size from 30 to 90 research scientists, but he remained directly involved in the research. He then took on the role of Business Manager for the Department and in his new role he developed a corporate intelligence service for QinetiQ, and devised a methodology for the measurement of the level of threat in an information environment. The underlying concepts of this methodology have subsequently been used as the basis for the new Infosec Standard 1 (IS1). Whilst in a management role within DERA/QinetiQ, he developed relationships with a number of academic institutes and was involved in the development of an MSc course in the Information Security area.

During his employment with DERA/QinetiQ, he gained an MSc (distinction) in Information Security and Computer Crime. In September 2002 he left QinetiQ for a role at the University of Glamorgan as a principal lecturer in information security and computer crime, where he created a computer forensics research laboratory to investigate the issues related to this increasingly important area and also developed two further MSc awards. He gained a Ph.D. in the measurement of Threats to Information Systems in July 2004.

In January 2005 he took up a post as a technical group leader in the Security Research Centre at British Telecommunications (BT) and in June 2006 was made Head of Security Research, then in 2008 was promoted to Chief Researcher and took on responsibility for setting the direction and managing the Information Security research programme within BT. While employed at BT he went on a sabbatical where he took up a post of the Programme Chair for the Information Security MSc at Khalifa University in the United Arab Emirates where he developed a Masters course and also created an information security research programme. To achieve this he worked with a number of government departments, defence contractors and organisations from the Oil and Gas industry and local businesses to develop an educational and research capability that met the regional requirements. In June 2013, with the research capability established and having completed the development and Ministry accreditation of the course he returned to the UK where he is now carrying out research into Information Security and Digital Forensics.

He is currently the Director of the Cyber Security Centre at the university of Hertfordshire where he has created a security and digital forensics research lab and is currently undertaking research into a number of related topics.

He has been involved in a number of information security projects for the Government, the police and a defence contractor. He has acted as the technical advisor for the then National Crime Squad Data Acquisition and Recovery Team and he is currently on the committee for five information security and computer forensic conferences. He currently holds posts as an adjunct professor at Edith Cowan University in Perth, Australia, the University of South Australia in Adelaide and as a visiting professor at the University of Derby, De Montfort University, the University of South Wales and The University of Suffolk in the UK. He has authored seven books in the areas of Information Warfare, Information Security and Digital Forensics and is regularly called upon to give keynote speeches at security conferences.